Sunday, January 27, 2013

Pagan Myth - Corpus Delicti 7" (1983, Nuclear Waste Records)

Last week this California band's sole full-length LP was posted over at Vinyl Obscurity, so I thought I'd go ahead and share their only other vinyl release to complete the set. This 7" predates their "Moonrise" LP, and I personally don't find the songs to be quite as interesting as some of the tracks from that release (certainly not horrible though)... The two tracks here aren't quite as atmospheric dirge, but faster-pace heavily psychedelic influenced goth/wave with a wailing female singer...

Pagan Myth - Corpus Delicti 7" (1983, Nuclear Waste Records)

01. Corpus Delicti
02. White Horses & Black Cars
pass: kentuckyfriedwave

Saturday, January 12, 2013

VA: Index #2 K7 (1983, Index Audio)

Super rare UK tape / zine compilation that I've only seen for sale once. I added this release to discogs over five years ago, and have received quite a few private messages regarding it, which I presume is due to the track by one of the most mystified/rare UK goth/post-punk bands of all time - the short-lived Aemotii Crii, who included members such as Andy Cousin (All About Eve, Pink & Black, The Mission, Sex Gang Children, etc.), Tim Bricheno (All About Eve, Sisters of Mercy, XC-NN, etc.), and Rob Stroud early on (Sex Gang Children, Pink & Black, Technoquake, etc.). I'm not sure if the track will quite live up to all the expectations some might have imagined that have been seeking out material over the years, but here it is... Black, who later hit it big with the song "Wonderful World", contribute an early rarity that is quite good dark wave. Some Now Are contribute a nice dark post-punk track... their second 7" was produced by Peter Hook, but from what I remember it's nowhere as interesting as this song. There are some minimal/experimental tracks by Tanoy Entertainment and Stephen Horsfall, as well as other new wave and avantgarde material.

VA: Index #2 K7 (1983, Index Audio)

01. Side A Introduction
02. The Aemotii Crii - Gifts For All
03. Stephen Horsfall - Bleak & Wild Lands
04. Send No Flowers - Days of Rage
05. Ludus - Wrapped In Silence (Live)
06. Side B Introduction
07. Eric Random - Eastern Promise
08. The Balcony - Black Ivory Coast Towers
09. Tanoy Entertainment - Create & Exploit
10. Some Now Are - A Nightmares Dream
11. Black - Reunion
pass: kentuckyfriedwave

Saturday, January 5, 2013

VA: Scream Volumes 2 + 3 LPs (1984-5, Thirsty Ear Communications, Inc.)

These "Scream" compilations were promo LPs only released in a generic white sleeve containing the quote on the label, "Sampler containing really exciting American music." There are also two other volumes in this series (1 and 4) containing tracks by bands such as The Arms of Someone New, Executive Slacks, Algebra Suicide, and Rash of Stabbings. In reality, these compilations are not identified by volume, but by catalog number (SCRM-2, SCRM-3)... I simply labeled them by volume to reference easier. There are also at least two other LPs from the same label called "Scream Down Under" containing all Australian bands... I have one of these as well - but it is too terrible to post with the exception of one track by Gravity Pirates that is easily available on their "This Way To The Cargo Cult" LP.

Amongst these 2 LPs there are a couple nice tracks for fans of obscure 80s dark/synth/wave/guitar indie bands - Ninth Column, Lung Overcoat (exclusive track), Modern Cities, Boca Iy Ear, Eyes of God, Martin Human, Valley of Kings, and The Big Race. However, the rest of the bands are not "exciting" to me... but possibly worth the download for the couple of good ones (so check the preview below).

Preview samples:

VA: Scream Vol. 2 LP (1984, Thirsty Ear Communications, Inc.)

01. Eyes of God - Garden of Sin
02. The Big Race - Hands On Fire
03. Modern Cities - Worlds Away
04. LMNOP - Forever Thru The Sun
05. Buddy Love - I Can't Stand Myself
06. Zone - Americans
07. Loose Ties - Take A Ride
08. Valley of Kings - Where Have You Gone?
09. Martin Human - Upside Down & Backwards
10. Emily West - Constant Back Beat
11. Boca Iy Ear - Witch Doctor
12. Sadistic Exploits - Beginnings

VA: Scream Vol. 3 LP (1985, Thirsty Ear Communications, Inc.)

01. Primitons - You'll Never Know
02. The Statics - Transistor Radio
03. Echo - Mannequin Man
04. Lung Overcoat - Maybe We've Gone
05. Snakeout - Surfabilly
06. Bedful of Metaphysicians - The Wish I Had
07. The Uptown Rulers - Sneakin' Out
08. The Schemers - Valley of Love
09. 22 Cave Gods - Cave God Chant
10. Ninth Column - Bela's Box
11. PS - House With No Words
12. Pirate Radio - You Are The Knife
pass: kentuckyfriedwave

Wednesday, January 2, 2013

Dichroic Mirror - Dichroic Mirror K7 (1992, Mesmeric Records)

Very good quality early cassette release by US goth band Dichroic Mirror, who went on to release three cds between 1994-2000 that I doubt that many people ever bothered listening to (and must have called it quits sometimes afterwards). Their sound could possibly draw comparisons to some other US bands active around the same time period such as Stone 588, Mephisto Walz, Requiem In White, or early material by The Shroud... but they certainly have their own unique melodramatic elements, ghostly female vocals and a great atmospheric guitar sound. Some of the tracks on here later made it to their debut CD "Silence Is Foo", though these do not appear to be the same versions from the couple tracks I compared. Another early cassette exists called "Children of Lir" from '93 that I do not own nor have heard. Time to pull out the tarot cards!

Dichroic Mirror - Dichroic Mirror K7 (1992, Mesmeric Records)

01. Disconnection
02. Night Sky
03. Here We Fall
04. Veils
05. Box of Sand
06. Afterlife
07. Hide From The Shadows
08. Ghost Dance
09. At Sunset
10. Entrophy
pass: kentuckyfriedwave